IMOS ANMN NRS Site Profiles

National Reference Stations provide fundamental baseline information used to understand how large-scale, long-term climate change and variability is affecting Australian coastal seas. A current network of seven National Reference Stations are currently in operation in Australian coastal waters, of which three are long-term locations, Maria Island (Tasmania), Port Hacking (New South Wales) and Rottnest Island (Western Australia). The remaining four National Reference stations, including Darwin (Northern Territory), Yongala (Great Barrier Reef), Kangaroo Island (South Australia) and North Stradbroke Island (Queensland) are newer additions to the network of National Reference Stations, increasing the ability to monitor Australian coastal waters.

Australia’s Integrated Marine Observing System (IMOS) is enabled by the National Collaborative Research Infrastructure Strategy (NCRIS). It is operated by a consortium of institutions as an unincorporated joint venture, with the University of Tasmania as Lead Agent. Downloaded from the Australian Ocean Data Network (AODN) and imported with the Splashback Integration Script (SIS).

Open website

Powered by Splashback